DSSF Scholarship Program

The Door Security & Safety Foundation Scholarship Program provides funds for individuals to attend courses offered by DHI. Since 1997, the Foundation has granted more than 200 scholarships. This scholarship program is intended for those seeking technical education from the DHI or plan to achieve a DHI certification.

We are no longer accepting 2023 scholarship applications. The winners will be announced later this year. If you have any questions about your application or the 2024 Scholarship application, please contact DSSF at or 202-367-1134. 


2022 Scholarship Award Recipients

After an extensive review of strong submissions by the DHI Awards Committee, the Door Security & Safety Foundation is pleased to announce the 2022 scholarship recipients!

Rekha ShresthaDubai, UAE: BHMA Scholarship, in Memory of Adon H. Brownell, DAHC
Pablo SaucedoParker, CO: The Richard M. Lockman, AHC Memorial Scholarship
Frank G. ChownPortland, OR: TCH Scholarship, In Memory of George H. Boomer, Sr.
Ramon S. Macalalad, DHTCalgary, AB: CECO DOOR/ASSA ABLOY Scholarship, in Honor of JA Burbidge, AHC
Eric S. WilliamsParker, CO: The Charles W. Mullins, DAHC Memorial Scholarship
Collin HanleyMenomonee Falls, WI: Wisconsin Chapter Scholarship
Robert AabyKansas City, MO: Joseph G. Lesniak, DAHC, Memorial Fund
Nate L. Wetzel, Springdale, AR: Danny L. Campbell Memorial Fund
Donna HayesKomoka, ON: Corbin Russwin/ASSA ABLOY Scholarship, In Memory of Shirley Henry, AHC
Kyle GormanAuburn, WA: Puget Sound Scholarship, In Honor of H. Stephen Bettge, DAHC, FDAI
Jeff JongepierKomoka, ON: Hager Companies Scholarship
Christopher F. Buf, DHT, Barrie, ON: Colorado Doorways Scholarship, In Memory of C.H. Johnson, DAHC
Joseph HuculVerona, VA: Sharon Ashton, AHC, FDAI, CDT Tribute Fund for Education


2023 Scholarship Sponsors

We are grateful to the following companies who sponsor our scholarships:

Sharon Ashton, AHC, FDAI, CDT
Tribute Fund for Education
In Honor of
H. Stephen Bettge, DAHC, FDAI
The Danny L. Campbell
Memorial Fund
Joseph G. Lesniak, DAHC
Memorial Fund

Charles W. Mullins, DAHC
Memorial Scholarship

The Wisconsin Chapter